From Neeraj Chopra to Mithali Raj, full list of recommended players for Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award

Javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, who became only the second Indian to win an individual Olympic gold medal at the Tokyo 2020 Games, is among 11 players recommended for the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award.

Here is a list of athletes who have been recommended for the highest sporting honor:

  • Neeraj Chopra (Athletics)

  • Ravi Dahiya (Wrestling)

  • PR Sreejesh (Hockey)

  • Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing)

  • Sunil Chhetri (Football)

  • Mithali Raj (Cricket)

  • Pramod Bhagat (Badminton)

  • Sumit Antil (Javelin)

  • Avani Lekhara (Shooting)

  • Krishna Nagar (Badminton)

  • M Narwal (Shooting)

Meanwhile, the committee also selected 35 athletes for the Arjuna Prize, eight more than the number of winners last year.

Cricketer Shikhar Dhawan, table tennis player para Bhavina Patel, commuter para Suhas Yathiraj and high jumper Nishad Kumar are among the winners of the Arjuna Prize.

Members of the men’s hockey team who ended India’s wait for a medal in the sport at the Olympics after 41 years will also receive the Arjuna Award.

Earlier this year, the Center renamed the nation’s highest sporting honor in honor of legendary hockey player Major Dhyan Chand. Previously, he was known as the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

(To receive our electronic paper daily on WhatsApp, please click here. We allow sharing of the PDF document on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Posted on: Wednesday October 27, 2021 6:47 PM IST

Previous See the path of life in the form of a puzzle piece
Next Welcome to the Plains: Chris Williams