Ganguly and SER GM inaugurate the BNR Indoor Sports Complex

India Cricket Board of Control Chairman, Sourav Ganguly, together with Archana Joshi, Managing Director, South Eastern Railway, in the presence of Prashant Mishra, Chief Financial Advisor and Chairman of South Eastern Railway Sports Association, inaugurated the sports complex BNR interior at South Eastern Railway’s Head Office Garden Reach campus on Monday. The inauguration ceremony was also attended by Snehashish Ganguly, Secretary of Bengal Cricket Association, and Debabrata Das, Co-Secretary of Bengal Cricket Association and other dignitaries.

The South Eastern Railway Sports Association, which is the new avatar of the old, and perhaps better known, BNR Recreation Club, came into existence in 1956 with the formation of South Eastern Railway. BNR Recreation Club, an affiliate member of Cricket Association Bengal, was founded in 1929 and has a rich history of legendary players and a long list of achievements including winners of the IFA Shield, Durand Cup, Beighton Cup and CAB league.

The BNR indoor complex has state-of-the-art facilities for all gymnastic apparatus (vault, horizontal bar, parallel bars, pommel horse, Roman rings and floor exercises), three badminton courts, a table tennis facility and a modern gymnasium. Among its legendary sportsmen are names like Leslie Claudius (Hockey), Mewalal (Football), Arun Ghosh (Soccer), Balaram (Football), MS Dhoni (Cricket), Aarti Saha (Swimmer) and many others.

The complex, which measures 32 meters by 42 meters, has a unique design of a pillarless and trussless roof, with a maximum span of 32 meters.

Sourav Ganguly, as the chief guest on this momentous occasion, praised the efforts of the South Eastern Railway Sports Association in creating this impressive infrastructure and also greatly appreciated the role of the railways in promoting the sports in the country in various sports disciplines. On this occasion, he also congratulated the exceptional sportsmen of SERSA.

Players commended included Nikki Pradhan, Salima Tete, Sangeeta Kumari (Women’s Hockey), Pranati Das, Pranati Nayak and Satyajit Mandol (Gymnastics) and Ashwin Shetty (BodyBuilding)

Previous Why we should all follow Roger Federer's example in ping pong
Next China replicates Beijing Olympic 'bubble' for rare sporting event