Gururaja Poojary wins bronze after Sanket Sargar wins silver in weightlifting; Mohammad Hussamuddin wins opening bout

LIVE Commonwealth Games 2022 Latest Birmingham updates, results and photos: India’s campaign at the 2022 Commonwealth Games has started on a high note with table tennis, badminton and hockey teams shutting out their respective adversaries. Although there was disappointment in triathlon and cycling, Srihari Nataraj capped off the day by making the cut in the men’s 100m backstroke final.

Here is a brief summary of India’s opening day results:-


In the men’s category, Adarsh ​​finished 30th and Vishwanath finished 33rd in the men’s TV category. In women, Praganya and Sanjana finished 26th and 28th respectively.


Table tennis

The women’s team won its first two group matches (1st match against South Africa 3-0 and second match against Fiji 3-0). The men’s team won their first group match against Barbados 3-0.

The men’s team will face Singapore in the second match of the group stage at 23:00 tonight.


Shiva Thapa defeated Baloch Suleman in the first 63.5kg men’s boxing match (5:0, unanimous decision).


Sajan Prakash (50m butterfly) failed to qualify for the semi-finals and Kushagra Rawat (400m freestyle) failed to qualify for the final. Srihari Nataraj (100m backstroke) made the final.


The women’s sprint team failed to qualify for the semi-finals, the Indian team finished 7th in the qualifying round with a time of 51.433 for the women’s team sprint. The men’s pursuit team finished last in the qualifying round with a time of 4:12.865.

In the men’s team sprint, India finished 6th in the qualifying round, failing to secure the semi-final spot for the same.


In women’s cricket, India lost to Australia in their first group stage match by three wickets. India scored 154 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 8 wickets, India will face Pakistan in their second group match on July 31st.


The women’s team started with a dominating performance over Ghana (ranked 30th), beating Ghana by a big 5-0 margin. India will face Wales tonight.

lawn bowls

In lawn bowling, Tania lost her first match in the women’s singles section against Daphne from the Falkland Islands (score 20-21). In the men’s team event, India lost to Scotland in the men’s section treble game (score 12-19).


India dominated Pakistan in the mixed team event winning all five matches.

Here is India’s schedule for Saturday:-

lawn bowls

  • Men’s Triple Section A (3rd Leg): India vs Malta – 13:00 IST
  • Ladies’ Singles, Sectional Play (Round 3): Tania Choudhury v Laura Daniels (Wales) – 1:00 p.m. IST
  • Men’s Pairs Section C (Round 3): India vs Cook Islands – 7:30 p.m. IST
  • Women’s Four, Section D: India vs Canada – 10:30 p.m. IST


  • Men’s 55kg Final (Sanket Mahadev) – from 1:30 p.m. IST
  • Men’s 61kg Final (Gururaja) – from 4:15 p.m. IST
  • Women’s 49kg Final (Mirabai Chanu) – from 8 p.m. IST
  • Women’s 55kg Final (Bindyarani Devi) – 00:30 IST

Table tennis

  • Women’s Team, Group 2: India vs Guyana – 2:00 p.m. IST
  • Men’s Team, Group 1: India vs Northern Ireland – 4.30pm IST

To crush

  • Men’s singles, round of 16: Ramit Tandon vs. Christopher Binnie (Jamaica) – 5:00 p.m. IST
  • Women’s Singles Round of 16: Joshna Chinappa vs. Meagan Best (Barbados) – 5:45 p.m. IST
  • Women’s Singles Round of 16: Sunayna Kuruvilla vs. Aifa Azman (Malaysia) – 5:45 p.m. IST
  • Men’s singles, round of 16: Saurav Ghosal vs. Shamil Wakeel (Sri Lanka) – 6:15 p.m. IST
  • Women’s Singles Round of 16: Anahat Singh vs. Emily Whitlock (Wales) – 11:45 p.m. IST
  • Men’s singles, round of 16: Abhay Singh vs. Alan Clyne (Scotland) – 00:15 IST


  • Men Over 54kg-57kg, Round of 16: Mohammad Hussamuddin vs Amzolele Dyeyi (South Africa) – 4:30pm IST
  • Women Over 66kg to 70kg, Round of 16: Lovlina Borgohain vs Ariane Nicholson (New Zealand) – 00:00 IST
  • Men 86kg-92kg, Round of 16: Sanjeet Kumar vs Ato Leau (Samoa) – 1 AM IST (July 31)


  • Mixed Team, Group A: India vs Sri Lanka – from 1.30pm IST
  • Mixed Team, Group A: India vs Australia – from 11.30pm IST


  • Men’s Marathon Final (Nitender Rawat) – from 1:30 p.m. IST


  • Men’s 200m Freestyle (Kushagra Rawat) – from 3:00 p.m. IST
  • Men’s 200m Freestyle Final (Kushagra Rawat)* – from 00:13 IST (July 31)
  • Men’s 100m backstroke 59 finals (Ashish Kumar Singh) – 12:18 a.m. IST (para-swimming)
  • Srihari Nataraj Men’s 100m Backstroke Final – from 1:35 a.m. IST (July 31)

Artistic Gymnastics

  • Women’s team final and individual qualification: Pranati Nayak, Ruthuja Nataraj, Protishta Samata – from 9 p.m. IST


  • Women’s Pool A: India vs Wales – 11.30pm IST


  • Qualifying, women’s sprint: Triyasha Paul, Mayuri Lute – 2:32 p.m. IST
  • Qualifying, Women’s 3000m Individual Pursuit – Meenakshi – 3:11 p.m. IST
  • 1/8 final, women’s sprint*: 4:03 p.m. IST
  • Quarter-finals, women’s sprint*: 4:36 p.m. IST
  • Qualifying, Men’s 4000m Individual Pursuit: Vishvajeet Singh, Dinesh Kumar – 4:52 p.m. IST
  • First round, men’s keirin: David Beckham, Esow Alben – 8:32 p.m. IST
  • Semi-finals, women’s sprint*: 8:52 p.m. IST
  • Finals, women’s 3000m individual pursuit*: 9:00 p.m. IST
  • First-round draft, men’s keirin*: 9:14 p.m. IST
  • Final, Men’s 4000m Individual Pursuit* – 9:56 p.m. IST
  • Second round, men’s keirin – 10:11 p.m. IST
  • Finals, women’s sprint – 10:21 p.m. IST
  • Finals 1-6, men’s keirin* – 10:47 p.m. IST
  • Finals 7-12, men’s keirin* – 10:52 p.m. IST

*Subject to qualification

Read all Recent news and recent news here

Previous Liam Pitchford not afraid of transplant after start of Commonwealth campaign
Next Table tennis player Fei Ming Tong allegedly rants about his daughter's Jewish doubles partner