Horrible day for seeds in U-17 girls category at North Zone national ranking table tennis tournament

The girls U-17 players had a horrific outing on day two of the nation’s northern zone table tennis championships on Monday. Fourth seed Sayali Wani from Maharashtra, fifth seed Pranati P. Nair from Kerala, sixth seed Karuna Gajendra from Karnataka and seventh seed M. Hansini from Tamil Nadu fell by the category of young girls U-17.

Unranked Nandini Sahab of West Bengal started off on the wrong foot in the round of 16 but managed to pull through in the last three games to outshine the Maharashtra player.

Pranati lost the first match but rebounded to win the next against Avani Tripathi. But the latter turned the situation around as table tennis player UP won the third and fourth matches to advance to the pre-quarter-finals.

Read: Paddlers Payas Jain and Suhana Saini win national U-19 TT championship titles

Delhi’s Riddhima Kapoor, without wasting time, simply put him on an out of color Karuna in back-to-back matches.

Tamil player Nadu Hansini, meanwhile, fought to stay in the game until her opponent Srijita Shaw of Bengal took the final two points after two points to advance to the next round.

The seeds are doing better in the boys U-17 category at North Zone Table Tennis Championships

In the U-17 young boys category, only eighth seed Sarth Mishra of Uttar Pradesh failed to advance to the pre-quarterfinals, while the other seeds did. no problem.

Karnataka qualifier KJ Aakash, who started confidently after winning the opener with extended points, could not be prevented from entering the round of 16 despite the eighth seed who managed to win the second game.

Earlier today, the eight seeded junior U-17 boys advanced to the second round.

However, second seed Aadarsh ​​Om Chetri and seventh seed PB Abhinand struggled before qualifying for the second round.

The Delhi table tennis player won 11-6, 9-11, 11-2, 11-7 over Telangana’s Trishul Mehra. Abhinand lost two games to Amish Athwale of the PSPBA.

The Tamil Nadu table tennis player led 2-0 before the PSPBA ace rebounded to win the next two matches. However, in the decider, Abhinand increased the bet to triumph 11-8, 11-4, 6-11, 5-11, 11-5.

Read also : Sharath Kamal wins national TT championship title

Edited by Sudeshna Banerjee

Profile picture

Previous How Bengaluru-based Divyaang Myithri Academy aims to revolutionize parasports in the country
Next Regional Table Tennis Blades Market Forecast to 2027 | Butterfly (Tamasu) | Eastfield Allwood