Neeraj Chopra, 11 others get Khel Ratna

New Delhi: Tokyo Olympic gold medalist javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, silver medalist wrestler Ravi Kumar Dahiya, boxer Lovlina Borgohain and Paralympic medalists Avani Lekhara, Pramod Bhagat, Krishna Nagar, Sumit Antil and Manish Narwal were doing part of a dozen winners of the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Prize awarded by the government on Tuesday.

Hockey team captain Manpreet Singh and goalkeeper PR Sreejesh as well as cricketer Mithali Raj and national football team skipper Sunil Chhetri were the others nominated for the Khel Ratna award.

In addition to the 12 Khel Ratna Award winners, the giant list of National Sports Award winners includes 39 athletes, including historic fencer Bhavani Devi, hockey player Vandana Katariya, 16 male hockey players were part of the team that won. won a historic bronze medal after a four-decade gap at the Tokyo Olympics, and Paralympic medalist Bhavina Patel – received the Arjuna Award.

The Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award is the highest sporting honor bestowed by the government and is awarded for outstanding performance in the field of sports, while the Arjuna Award recognizes consistent performance and qualities such as leadership and discipline. Both awards consider performance over a four-year period and include a trophy, citation, and cash prize.

Normally, the awards are given on August 29 on the occasion of National Sports Day but this year has been postponed due to the Tokyo Olympics and the Paralympics.

In the normal course, the performance in Tokyo would have been considered for this year if the Olympics had been held in 2020 and had not been postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

As the country’s athletes performed their best at the Olympics and Paralympics, the Sports Department tried to accommodate as many medalists as possible, hence the giant list.

The complete list of laureates:

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2021
Neeraj Chopra (Athletics), Ravi Kumar Dahiya (Wrestling), Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing), PR Sreejesh (Hockey), Avani Lekhara (Tir Para), Sumit Antil (Para-athletics), Pramod Bhagat (Para Badminton), Krishna Nagar ( Para Badminton), Manish Narwal (Tir Para), Mithali Raj (Cricket), Sunil Chhetri (Football), Manpreet Singh (Hockey).

Arjuna Prize

Arpinder Singh (Athletics), Simranjit Kaur (Boxing), Shikhar Dhawan (Cricket), CA Bhavani Devi (Fencing), Monika (Hockey), Vandana Katariya (Hockey), Sandeep Narwal (Kabaddi), Himani Uttam Parab (Mallakhamb), Abhishek Verma (Shooting), Ankita Raina (Tennis), Deepak Punia (Wrestling), Dilpreet Singh (Hockey), Harmanpreet Singh (Hockey), Rupinder Pal Singh (Hockey), Surender Kumar (Hockey), Amit Rohidas (Hockey), Birendra Lakra (Hockey), Sumit (Hockey), Nilakanta Sharma (Hockey), Hardik Singh (Hockey), Vivek Sagar Prasad (Hockey), Gurjant Singh (Hockey), Mandeep Singh (Hockey), Shamsher Singh (Hockey), Lalit Upadhyay (Hockey )), Varun Kumar (Hockey), Simranjeet Singh (Hockey), Yogesh Kathuniya (Para-athletics), Nishad Kumar (Para-athletics), Praveen Kumar (Para-athletics), Suhash Yathiraj (Para-badminton), Singhraj Adhana ( Para-shooting), Bhavina Patel (para table tennis), Harvinder SIngh (para archery) and Sharad Kumar (para athletics).

Dronacharya Prize winners

Radhakrishnan Nair (athletics), Sandhya Gurung (boxing), Pritam Siwach (hockey), Jai Prakash Nautiyal (para shooting), Subramanian Raman (table tennis).

Winners of the Dronacharya Lifetime Award

TP Ouseph (Athletics), Sarkar Talwar (Cricket), Harpal Singh (Hockey), Ashan Kumar (Kabaddi), Tapan Kumar Panigrahi (Swimming),

Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sport

Lekha KC (boxing), Abhijeet Kunte (chess), Davinder Singh Garcha (hockey), Vikas Kumar (Kabaddi), Sajjan Singh (wrestling).

Source link

Previous ITF President Says There Must Be 'Mutual Understanding' Between Players and Reporters Following Naomi Osaka's Position On Mental Health
Next Table tennis star shines at national championships